Carbondale News - Carbondale, PA
  • Chargers gridders, cheerleaders honored

  • Touchdown Club holds banquet.
    • email print
  • The Carbondale Area Touchdown Club officially closed its 2013 program by honoring the Chargers' football squad and cheerleaders at its annual banquet at Montdale Country Club.
    More than 250 people attended the event that recognized 75 football players and 29 cheerleaders.
    The Chargers posted a 9-2 record in 2013. During the season, the Chargers became just the fifth program and just the sixth team in the area's 70+ years of history to post four straight shutouts to open the season. The 7-0 start, with four shutouts, was a program first.
    The nine wins joined four other CA teams who had nine regular season wins.
    A number of players earned All-Divisional and All-Regional recognition by various media outlets highlighted by Ricky Jones being named to the WNEP-TV Dream Team and Northeastern Pa Football Offensive team, Brian LaVolpe earning Scranton Times All-Regional LB honors. Head coach Larry Gabriel III being named Scranton Times' Regional Coach of the Year and Northeastern Pa Football D-III Coach of the Year.
    Recipients of Special Awards included: Ricky Jones (Overall MVP, Playmaker, and Jack Harrity Award), Brian LaVolpe (Defensive MVP), Jason Martin (MVP Offense, Playmaker), Isaiah McCord (MVP O-line, Defensive Playmaker), Kevin Ormes (Jim Miler Most Aggressive Award, MVP D-line), Matt Stinnard (Defense-Unsung Hero), Tim Mantis (Offense -Unsung Hero), Brad Sales (Most Versatile), Chris Larson (Most Improved), Josh Scombordi (Off-Season Dedication), Chance Rossetti (Special Teams), Ryan Mullally (Coaches Award) and Chip Calabro (Special Teams, Billy "Juice" Conigliaro Team Spirit, William McDonough Award, Tom Molinaro Award).
    The CA freshmen team, which claimed the D-III crown, recognized Evan Dearie (Overall MVP), Kevin Bebla (MVP Offense), Marcus Ortiz (MVP Defense), Shaun Tate (MVP O-line), and Jared Coscia (MVP D-line).
    Cheerleaders, Gabby Cassaro and Nichole Dragwa were name the Colleen Novobilski Friendship Award winners.
    Erik Larson (athletic director) offered final remarks by recognizing head coach Larry Gabriel III being named Scranton Times' Regional Coach of the Year and Northeastern Pa Football D-III Coach of the Year which brought "LG III, LG III chants" and a standing ovation from the football squad.
    Jeff Arthur, the first Conigliaro recipient in 1986, presented that award and the Jim Miller Award. Dave Cerra, CA Business Manager, represented the administration. A moment of silence was observed for the late Andy Cerra. Cerra was a long-time three-sport coach and athletic director who passed away during the season.
Terms of Service

    Events Calendar